Revision as of 19:10, 11 October 2023 by Crofton (talk | contribs) (Pointers for Board Members)
Jump to: navigation, search

Governance structure/bylaws

As of 2015, OpenEmbedded is a Texas-registered non-profit corporation

Copy of bylaws ratified in 2015 can be found <<<HERE>>>

Previously, OpenEmbedded was a German e.V. - more information here: Organization-e.V.

The current board of directors

  • Philip Balister
  • Denys Dmytriyenko
  • Jon Mason
  • Tim Orling

Current Members

(please keep in alphabetical order)

  1. Alessandro Gardich
  2. Alex Lennon
  3. Anders Darander
  4. Andrea Adami
  5. Andrea Galbusera
  6. Andreas Oberritter
  7. Andrei Gherzan
  8. Apelete Seketeli
  9. Armin Kuster
  10. Behan Webster
  11. Bill Mills
  12. Bruce Ashfield
  13. Changhyeok Bae
  14. Chris Larson
  15. Christopher Clark
  16. Cliff Brake
  17. Daniel Willmann
  18. Dave Stewart
  19. David Reyna
  20. Denys Dmytriyenko
  21. Dirk Hohndel
  22. Dirk Opfer
  23. Dmitry Eremin­Solenikov
  24. Eilís Ní Fhlannagáin
  25. Eric Bénard
  26. Esben Haabendal
  27. Florian Boor
  28. Frans Meulenbroeks
  29. Gary Thomas
  30. George McCollister
  31. Graeme Gregory
  32. Henning Heinold
  33. Holger Freyther
  34. Jack Mitchell
  35. Jan Lübbe
  36. Jan-Simon Möller
  37. Jason Kridner
  38. Jeff Osier-Mixon
  39. John Toomey
  40. John Willis
  41. Jon Mason
  42. Josef Holzmayr
  43. Joshua Lock
  44. Joshua Watt
  45. Ken Gilmer
  46. Khem Raj
  47. Koen Kooi
  48. Leon Woestenberg
  49. Liam Girdwood
  50. Manjukumar Matha
  51. Marcin Juszkiewicz
  52. Marco Cavallini
  53. Marek Vasut
  54. Mark Brown
  55. Mark Hatle
  56. Marta Rybczynska
  57. Martin Hundebøll
  58. Martin Jansa
  59. Michael Halstead
  60. Michael Lauer
  61. Michael Smith
  62. Moritz Fischer
  63. Nicolas Dechesne
  64. Otavio Salvador
  65. Paul Barker
  66. Paul Eggleton
  67. Peter Bergin
  68. Peter Kjellerstedt
  69. Philip Balister
  70. Philip Blundell
  71. Phillip Zabel
  72. Randy MacLeod
  73. Ricardo Ribalda
  74. Rich Persaud
  75. Richard Purdie
  76. Robert Berger
  77. Robert Schuster
  78. Roman I Khimov
  79. Ross Burton
  80. Rudolf J Streif
  81. Saul Wold
  82. Scott Garman
  83. Scott Murray
  84. Sean Hudson
  85. Simon Busch
  86. Stefan Schmidt
  87. Stephano Cetola
  88. Steve Sakoman
  89. Taras Kondratiuk
  90. Tim Orling
  91. Tom King
  92. Tom Rini
  93. Trevor Woerner
  94. Ulf Samuelsson
  95. Vyacheslav Yurkov
  96. Yu Ke
  97. Yury Bushmelev
  98. Zach Welch


Why become an OpenEmbedded Member?

  • Can vote in YP TSC, OE TSC, and OE board elections
  • Can vote to approve/deny new OE members
  • Can run for positions on YP TSC, OE TSC, and OE Board
  • Access to members only mailing list
  • Monthly OE Happy hours (generally open to non-members)
  • Ability to attend and present at OE dev day (attendance generally open to non-members)

Steps to become an OpenEmbedded Member

  1. E-mail with your desire to become a member.
    New members are voted on by the existing membership. This is mostly a formality, but members do want relevant information about yourself (to make sure you are a real person, have relevant interest in OE, and would be a good member). To that end, providing the following should help your application:
    • Please describe yourself and your relevant OpenEmbedded experience.
      (Links to commits in OE git would be nice)
      (LinkedIn link might be helpful as well)
    • Please list OE members who can vouch for you (none are required, but having some is always beneficial).
    • Anything else members might wish to know?
  2. The board will hold an online vote using Helios with existing members to approve/deny your membership (takes ~1 month)
  3. The board will notify you of the outcome
  4. You will be invited to join the OE members mailing list and added to the membership list on the OE wiki


The OpenEmbedded organization installed the [TSC] to make technical steering of the project easier.

Social Media

For topics concerning the various representations of OpenEmbedded on social media, please contact Social Media Manager Josef Holzmayr.


  • process for adding new members
  • process for voting
  • responsibility of the board
  • conflict resolution

Pointers for Board Members

Online Voting Policy


Are contributions tax deductible?
Yes they are. See Donating to OpenEmbedded for complete information
Should I become member of the OpenEmbedded?
We welcome all developers and users of OpenEmbedded. This is the organization representing the individuals that make up the project.
How do I become member of the OpenEmbedded?
Is there a membership fee?
There is no membership fee. We do welcome one time and recurring donations to help cover project costs.

General Assemblies

* Prague, 2011
* Barcelona, 2012
* Edinburgh, 2013
* Dusseldorf, 2014
* Dublin, 2015
* Berlin, 2016
* OEDEM_2017
* OEDEM_2018